RSS Feed

Of Serendipity, or I Got a Job So Get Off My Back

It was during our last days on our honeymoon when I brought up the conversation.  With Jason 8 years older than I am, I didn’t want to wait very long to have children.  The problem was that I just started a job as a Promotions Director at a Cincinnati radio station.  This was a great stepping stone in a radio career, but I wasn’t happy.  I spent the last 3 years at a different company, and things were run very differently.  This new company was demanding a lot of me.  I had to decide if we were ok with me putting A LOT more time at work, or to have a family.

Could we have done this at the same time?  Sure, but there was another Promotions Director at the station that had a family and never got to see them.  It was what he had to do to provide, but my situation was different.  Even with a Director’s position, my husband was still making almost five times what I was.

So over that dinner in Rome, drunk with vacation bliss, I knew I had to give us a dose of reality.  “Would you mind if I didn’t work,” I asked him.  I didn’t want a career over family.  Not many people get this option, and I decided to take it.

My parents were never home.  Who knows where my father was, and my mother had to work to support us.  All I could think of were the trips my Grandmother would take my cousins and myself on.  We would go to museums, Americana (an amusement park that is sadly no more), or just to Chuck E Cheese, and a lot of times my Aunts who were stay-at-home mothers would come with us.  I was always so jealous because my mother was never there.  There weren’t home cooked meals.  My mother didn’t even know how to cook.  I didn’t want that for my kids.  If I could be, I wanted to be there for them.

“I want you to be happy,” he told me.  I have the most amazing husband in the world!

So when we got back I put in my two weeks, and began my life as a homemaker……

Everything was great…..until I wasn’t producing babies.  There is nothing better than people acting like you’re not really a housewife, or really working for that matter, if you don’t have children.  “What do you do all day?”  Well aside from the cooking, cleaning, shopping, gardening, laundry, sewing, maintenance, and running errands, I guess nothing.  Not to mention that the whole no-child thing isn’t for a lack of trying.  In fact it’s incredibly painful, and soul crushing.

I have to admit that a little part of me wanted to move to get away from it.  Not that that really helps.  “Well now that you’re in a whole new city with no friends and no children, what do you do all day?!?”  True, this would bother some people, but I’m happy.  I don’t really have to explain any more than that.

“You really should get a job.  Just part time!  You need to meet people!  Get some extra spending money!”  I am a 28 year old woman.  I think I can make my own decisions on what would make me happy or complete.  It never ended though.  So I thought I would at least look around Craigslist if just to shut people up…..

“VERY PART TIME RECEPTIONIST” was the title.  I read the rest of the post and saw it was at a reproductive acupuncture center.  “Cool, I’m having reproductive troubles myself,” I thought.  So I sent off a cover letter and my resume, and left it at that. Then, I received an email a day later asking me to come in for an interview.  I got the address and was on my way.

When I pulled up to the building I saw a sign on the side, “RMA of Texas”.  Well that just happened to be the fertility clinic that I scheduled an appointment for us just weeks earlier.  They were in the same building!

To make a long, boring story short, I got the job.  The same day that the earthquake shook the east coast.  That’s what you get, mother!

So not only do I get great care from the wonderful ladies at The Texas Center for Reproductive Acupuncture, but literally just around the corner are the wonderful staff of RMA of Texas.  Anyone having to go through IVF, couldn’t ask for a better situation.  I’m surrounded by people, at least twice a week, that are going to help me to conceive and are there if I have any questions.  Not to mention they are super nice and fun people.

So serendipity? Fate?  Whatever, I’ll take it as a good sign.  Plus, now hopefully people won’t see me as some sad lonely little woman sitting on the couch with nothing to do.

About babyandthegeeks

I'm just a 28 year old neurotic hippie/geek, and I'm just doing my thing.

Leave a Reply

