RSS Feed

Everyone Say, “Weeee for Congee!”

Western and Eastern Medicines

Being from the almost Mid-West/South, Eastern medical practices weren’t very abundant.  In fact, I think it’s safe to say that most people would think it was complete nonsense.  I myself really didn’t have an opinion one way or the other, but you go with what you know and I knew Western medicine.

But now that I work at an acupuncturist, I’m surrounded by incense, herbs, and lots of things that I can’t even begin to pronounce.  I have a whole new world opened up to me, so why shouldn’t I give it a try?  The first things the ladies there told me to do was to come in once a week for an acupuncture session, start taking a supplement called Floradix , and have Congee every morning for breakfast.

Ok, so the relaxation from acupuncture sounds good.  Plus I get one free session a week for working there!  Floradix is an iron supplement, and I’ve been told by Western medical doctors that I needed more iron….

What the heck is Congee though?!?

The Practice Coordinator and website explained:  it’s a rice porridge.  To be exact you take a cup of brown rice, 10 dried apricots, 8 cups of water, put it into a slow cooker before you go to bed, and when you wake up it’s ready to be pureed and eaten.  Overcooked rice water, doesn’t it sound awesome?

Congee, Breakfast of Champions!

This is what it looks like, and the taste is pretty much what you would expect of soggy brown rice.  I followed the suggestion of my Coordinator, and added some juice sweetened granola.  Much more tolerable!

The purpose of Congee is to help your spleen and digestion.  The better your digestion is, the better your body is.  The better your body is, the better chances you have of the IVF working.

I don’t think it’s any great secret or mystery that I haven’t taken the best care of my body.  So what could it hurt?  We’re going to be spending thousands of dollars on this procedure.  So if sucking it up and eating some rice porridge can help, why the heck not?

My doctor also told me that in order to have the procedure done at all, I would have to lose 10 pounds.  So I started up the Wii fit and my husband and I hit up Central Market to shop for supplies for the Acubalance Fertility Diet.  Which is a slow carb, whole food, mostly plant based diet.

So far it hasn’t been too bad, and although we’re buying organic we’re not really spending that much more on groceries than we normally do.  The food has been yummy, but I definitely get the cravings for ice cream and processed foods.  It’s also not easy when you are shopping and your husband has to point out the chocolate covered gummi bears…….but anyway.

While I don’t feel like I have tons of energy (could be the fault of inadequate sleep from a snoring husband and his dog who demands that I feed him at 7 am), I noticed that I’m not as gassy and my digestion does seem better.

So what do I think of Eastern medicine now?  Well, I guess I still really don’t have an opinion, quite yet. I’ve only done the diet part so far, but I hope this week to try out the Floradix and get my first acupuncture session in.   Like I said though, I’m willing to try anything that may help.

Besides, I don’t think anyone can argue that it has to be better for my overall health in general.  So I’m staying positive, and thankful that I do have these options that will hopefully finally give us a baby.  Although to do it I had to move to a state known for fantastic bar-b-que and Tex mex….

Red Meat......rghrhgrhgggggggggggg

 

UPDATE:  After a few more days of Congee/Diet/and now the Floradix, I do definitely notice a difference in my energy, digestion, complexion, and overall health!  I’ll have my first acupuncture session later in the week, and I’m really excited for it!

About babyandthegeeks

I'm just a 28 year old neurotic hippie/geek, and I'm just doing my thing.

3 responses »

  1. you are braver than me for eating congee! Although I really should give it a go and get a bit healthier diet wise.

    Reply
    • Thank you! Well, if you give it a try, make sure to have some granola on hand as well as some agave nectar or cinnamon. You are quite a brave lady yourself, and I hope the best for you! Thanks for reading!

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Week 24 « babyandthegeeks

Leave a Reply

