RSS Feed

Information Overload

  We had our two hour IVF class this morning, and my brain is fried…  We had to get up at 5:30 this morning, and I didn’t get home until 11:30.  More on that later…

First I guess I should say that DH’s and my blood work from Saturday came back great.  No infectious diseases for either of us. My CD3 numbers were also good.  My Estradiol was 38.3, my FSH was 4.8, and my TSH was 1.7.  If you don’t understand it’s ok.  Just know it’s good.

The timing of everything got pushed back a bit farther than I thought it was going to be, but I’m fine with it.  They want to keep me on the birth control until Oct. 18th, and then I’ll have an ultrasound on Oct 21st.  I’ll start the Follistim and Menopur (these are injections that will stimulate egg growth) and DH will start Doxycyline on the 22nd.  I’ll be sticking myself with these in the stomach or thigh for 10 days, and be taking blood work/ultrasounds every 3 days or so.  From what they see from the blood/ultrasound, they’ll determine when to do the egg retrieval Nov 1st, 2nd, or 3rd.

When they determine when to do the retrieval, DH will give me a Novarel or Ovidrel injection in the butt to start ovulation 38 hours before the retrieval.  So then once they get my eggs they’ll take DH’s sperm and inject the best ones directly in (ICSI).  They’ll then take a look at the embryos (hopefully) created, and determine when to transfer them into my uterus.  Either 3, 4, or 5 days after the retrieval.  So any time between Nov 4th – 8th depending on when the retrieval is, and when the lab feels they need to get the embryos in me.  Actually, based on my age and health they’ll probably only transfer one embryo.  As much as we think we’d like to have 2 and get it over with, it’s actually more dangerous for babies and mommy.

Then for EIGHT weeks after that DH gets to stick me with Progesterone, which will help gestation.  You should see the needle on this thing!  It’s like 2 inches long!  It’s an inter-muscle injection, so it has to go pretty far in.  Thank goodness he’s got a steadier hand than I do.  Ughh…

Oh, did I mention that all this medication should cost us an extra $4,000 to $6,000?  We also decided to have whatever good embryos not transferred this cycle to be frozen.  So that we can use them later and not have to have another retrieval, or if something is wrong with the child and they need stem cells.  What’s an extra $600 a year at this point?

And you’ll never think of the forms and questions you have to answer when it comes to freezing eggs.  Like what if one partner dies, who gets them?  What if both partners die?  What if you divorce?

There’s a lot more little information swarming around my head, but these are the main points that you could need to know….

So now I’m just waiting to go for the HSG in a few hours.  My stomach is just turning.  I just want to get it over with.  My doctor called in a prescription for Doxycycline for it.  Since it’s dealing with my “down theres”, which has a lot of natural bacteria, it helps to protect from infection.

So I went directly over to the Walgreens they called it into, and told the pharmacist that I had a prescription called in.  She told me that there wasn’t anything in the computer, but that someone did call about 15-20 minutes before.  They didn’t get to it though, but a voicemail was left.  She then goes on to tell me that they will only check their voicemail once an hour….What the what what?!?  I’m standing here now telling you that the voicemail, that you admit exists, is my prescription order, but you won’t take the time to listen to it and fill it?  She told me it would be an hour until it was filled, and I could call in to check if it was ready.  Could they call me when it’s ready? No, but they could send a text….What happened to customer service?  I was obviously not a priority to them.

Not wanting to go home and take the dogs out of their kennels, only to turn around (presumably) an hour later and put them back in, I decided to run some errands and kill time.  An hour and a half later I hadn’t heard anything so I called them to check to see if it was ready.  They said they were finishing it up, and I headed back to pick it up.

I got up to the counter, got the medicine, and swiped my credit card.  Before she would finish up the transaction though, I had to talk to the on hand doctor.  This woman came over, quickly spouted some things about antibiotics and vitamins, and quickly walked away.  I had no idea what she just said, and no one was there to approve my card so I could leave.  I actually had to stand there, in view of all the people working there but ignoring me, until a new tech just clocking in came up and finished the transaction.  I could not believe how I was treated.  I will be sending my comments to Walgreens, and I will never go back to that one again.

I’m glad they include all the paperwork they do with medication because I read that I cannot take the Doxy with vitamins (of which I take a lot) and it makes the skin sensitive to light so I need to put extra SPF on.  I live in Texas, it’s still in the 100 degree temperatures, and we have LOTS of sun!  I apparently have to take it 2-3 hours after my vitamins.  So I have to take my iron supplements 30 minutes before meals, my vitamins after, and then the Doxy 2-3 hours after that….My head is about to explode….

Ok, so I think that’s it for now.  I’ll let you know how the HSG goes….

About babyandthegeeks

I'm just a 28 year old neurotic hippie/geek, and I'm just doing my thing.

2 responses »

  1. Wow, the people at your Walgreens must be trained by the same people that train the employees at my CVS! Just wanted to say I came across your blog and wanted to wish you good luck on your cycle!

    Reply
  2. Thank you for visiting, and same to you! I hope you’re doctor’s appointment went well, and you feel a little less crazy, lol!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

