RSS Feed

I’m Fine, Really?!?

Last Friday I started spotting.  I never spot.  Especially when I’m on CD 15.  That’s when I’m ovulating.  I was a little freaked, so I gave the Dr. on call at RMA a buzz and left a message.

It was actually my Dr. Arredondo that was on call and gave me a call back.  What happened next is why I love him.  I’m freaking out thinking it’s going to throw the whole cycle off, and push back the IVF.  He sounds calm and says to me in his Spanish accent, “You are fine, my friend!”  He explained that it was completely normal.  That the BC I’m on is meant to have my ovaries chill out (which they have.  I haven’t ovulated), but that lining in my uterus is still going to shed.

Just the way he talked to me almost made me laugh at myself.  It was what I really needed.  Not that this spotting is really fun, and it may not stop until I stop the BC on Tuesday.  I feel like I’m on my period.  I’m having cramps, and I feel bloated.

Which isn’t great for my weight loss.  I know it’s probably my body holding water, but I’m freaking.  I was stuck at 211 for a week, and then went back up to 212.  What?!?  I’ve been eating the same, and I bumped my workout from 40 min of cardio to a full hour.

I woke up this morning and was back down to 211, but then half an hour later I was at 208.8!  I know your weight fluxuates, but I was there!  I got off and back on 5 times, and it wasn’t a fluke.

So, do I feel better now?  Not completely.  I was glad to see something other than 212 or 211, but my weight fluxuates so much that I don’t know that it will stay there.  We’ll see what the next few days brings.  I won’t feel really good until I reach 205 I think.  That’s far enough from 210 and that BMI of 35 that I HAVE to be to have the egg retrieval done.  I’m just afraid that if I wake up the morning of the retrieval and I’m at 208, that by the time I get to San Antonio I’ll be at 211 and they’ll cancel the retrieval.  I’ve just been through so much for so long that I don’t want to ruin everything because I was too fat.

In other IVF news, we got our fertility drugs today:

I joked that I was shaking when I took the picture because only one of these are an oral drug, but I shake all the time (familial tremors).  The shaking will be great when I’m giving myself injections.  I’m actually looking more forward to DH giving me injections because he has a steadier hand.  Just not looking forward to that huge needle….

In other “I’m medically f-d up” news, I got a call from my GP about my X-Rays.  I apparently have “degenerative changes” in my spine.  They still don’t know what the “mass” is on my spine, so they ordered an MRI.

That wouldn’t have been a big deal, but my insurance needs “prior approval” before I can do it.  That wouldn’t be a big deal, but the whole process is rather confusing.  My doctor said that I need to set up an appointment with the radiologist, and that they would send something to them to send to the insurance blah blah blah.  I called my insurance company to make sure this is what needed to be done (because I don’t want to pay for this), but they told me I couldn’t make an appointment until I got approval.

Luckily my GP is awesome, and has been working a lot with my insurance to get it all straightened out.  They’re waiting to hear of approval from the insurance so they can let me know that I can schedule the MRI.

What just irks me about the whole thing is that no one just tells you what the hell to do.  When talking to the insurance company, they are so vague.  If I’m supposed to make an appointment at the radiologist and then they’ll send for the approval, then just say so!

******************************************************************************************************************************************

UPDATE!

I just decided to glance at our benefits online, and low and behold you don’t need prior approval if you are outside California!  Really?!?  When I talked to the insurance company before hand they couldn’t tell me that?!?

So now I just called to schedule the MRI, and the radiologist doesn’t have my referral for it!  Now, understandably my GP probably got as confused as I was through this whole thing, but really?!?  So they just re-sent it and I have to call the radiologist in like 30 min – hour to try to set up the appointment again.

Now I just called RMA, and they really want me to get it in before I start the medication next Saturday.

Ugh, I just want to cry.   I’m so tired of all this medical crap.  It’s just all wearing on me.  I would just blow off the spine stuff, but if this IVF does work and we have a kid I want to be able to pick them up.  I’m just afraid that I need to take care of it so I’m in the best shape for my child.  Time is just not on my side right now.

I’m going to take a hot shower and decompress before I try to call the radiologist again.  I’ll be sure to let you know what happens 😀

About babyandthegeeks

I'm just a 28 year old neurotic hippie/geek, and I'm just doing my thing.

One response »

  1. Undeniably believe that which you said. Your favorite justification seemed to be on the net the easiest thing to be aware of. I say to you, I definitely get irked while people consider worries that they plainly do not know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and defined out the whole thing without having side-effects , people can take a signal. Will probably be back to get more. Thanks

    Reply

Leave a Reply

