RSS Feed

This and That

  Had a pretty good weekend.  We got a new front door (no real reason.  The HSA just wanted new doors), and since the weather was nice and fresh air was circulating through the house, we decided to clean.  Well, also because my mother is coming to visit tomorrow, and I don’t want her to think we’re slobs.

DH was a surprising fantastic help, but it took us a good 6 hours to get a two bedroom condo fully clean.  I’m so glad it’s done though.  I’ve been a bit slacking with all this IVF stuff, and it’s only going to get worse for the next few weeks.

I’ve got to pick up my mother from San Antonio tomorrow, and she’ll be here for a week.  Although I feel bad that it won’t be a “real” just sitting-on-the-beach vacation for her, I’m glad she’s going to be going with me to my MRI and ultrasound/labs.  I also want her to come with me to my acupuncture session to see what it’s all about.  In Cincy, you really don’t get exposed to those sort of things.

I’m also hoping she’ll help me to get some Halloween stuff.  It’s my first year of having my own place with kids in the neighborhood, and I’m stupidly excited!  I don’t know if it will be hard to see all the kids, but I just love when they’re all dressed up.

Speaking of those kind of things, I got the baby shower invite for a cousin of mine.  Don’t get it wrong, I was so happy for her to get pregnant.  She’s been married for a few years now, and we really didn’t know if she would have kids or not.  She unexpectedly got pregnant, but unfortunately had a miscarriage.  Although we’ve always been pretty close, this was the time I was about TTC for 6 months so I reached out to her.  It was so nice to have someone to commiserate with, but then she stopped calling.  I knew what was going on, and four months later she called me to tell me that she was pregnant.  She was so sweet, and felt so bad.  I told her it was ok and that I was happy for her, and I truly was.  I can’t imagine going through a miscarriage (and hope I won’t).  I was just glad she got a hold of her medical problems, and could begin her family.

So I think I had a good handle on getting her a baby shower gift (we won’t be able to make the shower, but I want to send a gift).  I popped over to her registry online, and started to look around.  It took me a minute, but then I had to click away from the tab.  There was so much (a baby needs a lot)!  I just couldn’t help thinking “what if I never get to do this?”  What if I never get to pick out sheet sets, clothing, bottles, breast pumps, carriers, strollers, cribs, changing tables, ext.  What if I get none of it?  It’s just crushing.

I’ll probably just pick a price range and the first gift in that range is what she’s getting.  I feel bad it has to be like that, and it’s not her fault at all.  It’s just hard.

I’m lucky that I have a great DH that is always there to pick me up.  Yesterday was the 4 year anniversary of when we first met and started dating.  He surprised me with a dinner at Uchi.  It’s head chef, Tyson Cole, just won the 2011 James Beard award for Best Chef Southwest, and I believe is going to be on the upcoming season of Top Chef.  I love the show, and never got to eat anywhere one of the contestants worked at.  So I was really excited!  Not to mention I’m hopefully going to have to cut out seafood from my diet soon, so I want to get it in now!  DH even made me get not one, but two glasses of wine!  We had the signature tasting, and everything was exciting and soooo good!

I ate way too many calories, but I couldn’t have been happier.  Three words, crispy pork belly!  Uhhhhhh, this is why fat people are happy.  Good food and wine are just happiness.  I didn’t even care about the two pounds I gained.  I’ll get them back off.  At least I’m still under 210.

I wish I could have given my DH a little well deserved “happiness” last night, but I’ve been spotting for the last week and a half.  I stop taking BC tomorrow though, so I hope it gets flushed out and we can have a little “fun” before the procedure.  It’s so weird when making a baby doesn’t involve sex.  Uhhh, I really wish it didn’t have to be that way.

Alright, well I don’t know how much I’m going to be able to post because I’ll be keeping my Mom busy this week. I’ll probably make time Saturday to say how the ultrasound/labs went, and how much fun taking the fertility meds are.

About babyandthegeeks

I'm just a 28 year old neurotic hippie/geek, and I'm just doing my thing.

2 responses »

  1. Here from ICLW: I hope that you had a nice visit with your mom! My sister-in-law is pregnant and I feel the same way you do about your cousin…it’s a strange mix of emotions – excitement for them but sadness for yourself. Lots of positive thoughts heading in your direction for this cycle to be “the one.”

    Reply
    • Hi, thanks for stopping by, and thanks for your positive thoughts! I read a bit of your blog, and I’m so sorry about what you are going through! I know how it feels to be overwhelmed by the decisions we have to make. I wish I could give better advise, but all I can say is that I hope the best for you. I’ll be reading!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

