RSS Feed

The Tale of the Minivan

So this morning’s ultrasounds/labs went well.  My ETH bumped up to 9, my left ovary still showed 5 follies, and my right showed up with 5 as well.  My bloodwork has come back great, and they want me to start the Ganirelix tomorrow.  Then I’ll go back in Thursday morning to see if we’re coming along alright.

After our appointment I wanted to stop into Walgreens to get a couple of things before we headed home.  I had to turn left on a busy road during morning traffic.  Can you guess what happened?  A car smacked into the front of my car.

No one was hurt, but both cars were minorly undriveable.  My front bumper is barely on, the front light is gone, my driver door is jammed, and my brand new driver side front tire is dead.

Ugh, and G-love the little girl who hit me.  Not that it was her fault, but after talking to her I really don’t believe it was completely my fault.  I don’t know if she was really paying attention, but she was just dumb.  She really had no idea what to do and just kept laughing from nervousness.  She kept calling her dad, and he kept telling her I had to do all this stuff.

Now yes, I had to talk to my insurance company and report it so they could work with her insurance and take care of it.  By the time I had called the insurance company, the tow truck, and the rental car place to confirm pick up, she still was just standing around waiting for me to do all that for her.  Not because she expected it, but she really had absolutely no clue what to do.  She was 26…

DH and I decided to just tow the car back to the house.  He wants to take a look at it before he decides it’s not worth fixing.  It’s a 99 Carolla, and it’s not the safest car for a baby.  We’ve been talking about getting me a new car, but we just didn’t expect to have to do it this soon.  With all this other nonsense going on.

For now I got a rental for the next couple of days.  The thing is that they didn’t have any standards available, and we had to get going to San Antonio to get my mother on her flight home.  So what did they have?  A f-ing Town and Country Minivan….

Nothing like driving around a “mom car” to remind me of my infertilness…

About babyandthegeeks

I'm just a 28 year old neurotic hippie/geek, and I'm just doing my thing.

4 responses »

  1. That blows! Seriously blows! About the accident, not the follicles. And seriously the girl was 26 and had no clue? Time to put on your big girl panties and grow up.

    Reply
  2. The last time I got rear-ended was on the way back from a wedding, and the girl who ran into us was similarly hopeless. “Oh, I didn’t think you were going to stop…” At the red light? Well, we were kind of planning on it, yeah.

    Reply
  3. Wow, 26 and that clueless- I’m all of 25 and haven’t been that clueless for ummm… a decade! I hope you are able to figure out what to do about your car, accidents suck.

    Reply
  4. Sorry for the accident…glad you weren’t hurt though.
    This is my first time here…love the name of your blog! 🙂
    Good luck with your cycle!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

