RSS Feed

Well

  It wouldn’t be the first (or last) time I was wrong.

  We’re pregnant!

  I don’t even know what to think right now.  I’m happy, I’m nervous, and I’m sad.  I’m nervous because I know we’re not out of the woods yet, and that we can still miscarry.  Although most of our friends and family know what we are going through and we’ve told them all our awesome news, we’re going to wait a bit to say anything on Facebook or tell my small nieces.  

  I’m sad because I’m lucky.  To say we’ve only been TTC for 18 months may sound a lot to some, but to many it’s not.  I’ve only been blogging for two months, and I’ve been able to find and read many other blogs of women who are having a much harder time than us.  I almost feel guilty that we got pregnant on our first IVF.

  To all those out there I say, “I’m sorry.”  I’m sorry for what you’re going through.  I’m still going to keep up with you, send good thoughts your way, and I promise I will never ever take this miracle for granted.  I wish the best for you all, and I hope that the ups and downs you go through will be worth it.  I know some of you might stop reading, and I completely understand.  It’s ok.

  Gosh, it still seems surreal.  I never thought we would get here.  I don’t know what to do with myself. I’m still so gun shy though.  I just don’t want to get so excited and then miscarry.

  The nurse that called said my numbers were really good.  They like to see somewhere in between 10 and 750 (she says they never see a 750), and I was at 211.  I’ll go back Monday to get blood drawn again to make sure the numbers are where they should be (they should double every 48 hours).  If they are then we’ll have an ultrasound on week 6 (I’m at 4 weeks 2 days now).

  Now here’s the question:  How many are there?  They said that we’ll hopefully be able to tell at that 6 week ultrasound.  I kind of hope it’s twins so I don’t have to go through all this again, but I’ll be happy for however many healthy babies I can get.

  Oh, and if we do carry to term, my estimated due date is my birthday, July 25.

  I just don’t know what to do with myself now.  I just want to say a big thank you to everyone who sent thoughts, well wishes, and prayers.  We appreciate it so much and are forever grateful.  

  Hopefully good things to come, so stay tuned if you like.

About babyandthegeeks

I'm just a 28 year old neurotic hippie/geek, and I'm just doing my thing.

3 responses »

  1. Congratulations!!! You deserve this as each and everyone of us do whenever it comes along – perhaps shorter or longer than others. Enjoy and here’s to doubling or more than doubling beta numbers next week!

    Reply
  2. Congratulations…what a fantastic birthday gift!!

    I’ve been a lurker for a little while and was just checking in to see if there was any news. Having gone through this journey for a year, I find stories like yours inspirational on days when you just want to throw in the towel.

    Congrats again and keeping my fingers crossed for a more than doubling beta!

    Reply
  3. I know this post is almost 2 years old, but I just wanted to let you know how much I appreciate you sharing your experience. I am kind of in the same boat you were back then: we recently finished our first IVF cycle, which didn’t go as well as we were expecting. I had a nice high E2 and about 15 mature follicles before trigger. Unfortunately, at retrieval, they were only able to retrieve 7 eggs and only 5 were mature. Of those, only 3 fertilized. We did a 5 day transfer, but by then, only 2 embryos remained: a blastocyst and a morula. Because of our age, amh, fsh etc., our RE expected that I would produce at least 3-4 blasts and that we would be able to choose the best for transfer. So, this was a big disappointment for us, as we transferred the two and had nothing to freeze as well. The RE seemed doubtful the morula would work and mentioned that the fact that we had so few blasts by transfer was negatively prognostic for the quality of the remaining eggs we had left to transfer. I have since been obsessively scouring blogs/forums for others who have had success with suboptimal transfers (lor less than 3 blasts available come transfer). Your story reminds me most of ours and has helped me hold on to hope that this could happen for us this cycle. Anyhow, I just wanted to thank you for the time and effort you put into these posts.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

