RSS Feed

All I Want for Christmas is a 4-Way

I know you would love an explanation for that title, but you’ll just have to wait.

We had our private interview with our midwife yesterday, and it went really well.  It was mostly getting to know you, health background, urine and blood check (My poor arm is so tired of blood work), and price/insurance stuff.  Deb is really sweet though, and I’m really happy with how comfortable I am with her getting to know me so intimately over the next few months.

They usually also do a heartbeat check with a doppler.  She started to warn me that they don’t always hear a heartbeat, but then I told her, “Oh, we’ve been hearing and seeing it since week 6.”  So we opted out of doing it.  It’s always nice to hear, but I couldn’t imagine how worried I would be if we didn’t manage to get it on the doppler.  I don’t need that stress over an already busy holiday week.

We always seem to amaze these midwives out with how much we already know for being first time parents.  I doubt they deal with IFers a lot.  I wish I didn’t have to learn all this stuff the hard way, but it does make all this preliminary stuff go by quicker.

That was all for this visit, we go back for a physical on January 2.  I still can’t believe this is all really happening.

********************************************************************

So I should be napping now, but I’ve got to get some laundry done and finish packing.  I’m heading back to Cincinnati after work tomorrow with DH following me Friday night.

I’m excited to see friends and family, and to finally really get into the holiday spirit.  I’m not excited, however about the traveling.  I’m tired all the time, I get nauseated unless I eat every two hours, I hate crowds (people in general really), and I hate travelling without DH.  He can always keep me relaxed.

**Side note not really related.  I used to work for the TSA about 5 years ago.  The only reason I quit was because I got tired of working at the check in and dealing with passengers.  Are some of the rules stupid and inconvenient?  Of course, but the agents aren’t the ones that make up the rules.  They are just paid to enforce them.  That’s their job they do to put food on the table.  They don’t deserve to be cursed at or to have your shoes thrown at them (happened to me on a daily basis).  So I know that this is a stressful time and the airport is a stressful place, but don’t take it out on the TSA agents.  You know the rules, just take off your damn shoes and suck it up.  You’ll get through quicker.  If you really have a problem with it, then take the bus.**

So anyway, I’m just looking forward to getting it over with and getting my 4-Way on..

    Get your mind out of the gutter!  I’m talking chili.  Cincinnati chili that is.  It’s very different from a Texas chili.  It’s a lot thinner, herbier, and sweeter.  Saying a “4-way” is referring to what comes on it.  It starts with a bed of noodles, followed by chili, topped with a huge mound of sharp cheddar cheese (this is a 3-way),  and then you can add onions and/or beans to make it a 4 or 5-way.  It may not be for everyone, but if you grew up in Cincinnati you were fed it in your bottle.  It is one of the only things I crave and miss from my home town (the other being Big Boy.  I know it’s a national chain, but we don’t have any around us.  I need me some tartar sauce).

*********************************************************************

  I’m going to be super busy travelling and stuffing my face hole, so I won’t probably post until after Christmas.

   I want to say how thankful I am for the blessings we’ve received this year, and I’m very thankful for all of you who take the time to read my ramblings.

  Have a very Happy Holidays, and I wish you all the best in the new year!

About babyandthegeeks

I'm just a 28 year old neurotic hippie/geek, and I'm just doing my thing.

Leave a Reply

