RSS Feed

10 Week Ultrasound

Christmas came and went in a whirlwind.  It was nice to see friends and family that I haven’t seen in so long, but being in Cincy was very weird.  Like running into an ex who you’re still friends with.  You catch up and realize that both of you have moved on in your life without the other, for the better.  We did enjoy our 4 way together though!

I had to give myself the second to last Progesterone shot to myself on Thursday, but I wasn’t comfortable getting the angle right with the long needle. So before I could think about it, I asked my shaky mother to do it.  I’m happy to report that she did a great job, and actually did a better than DH had been doing lately.  Then DH gave me my last one on Christmas Eve.  Sooooo glad I don’t have to have any more shots!

The running around really knocked it out of DH and I though.  When we finally got home around 11 am on Monday, we basically slept until noon on Tuesday.  Then DH caught a nasty cold, and has been in quarantine in the extra bedroom since.

The nice thing was how quickly the two weeks went.  I didn’t really have time to think about being afraid of miscarriage.  As long as I kept having symptoms (aka feeling nauseated all the time), I knew it was ok.

DH always thinks I’m crazy to set my ultrasound appointments so early, but I couldn’t wait to see how baby was doing.  The ultrasound tech told me last time that I needed to drink something sugary before I came in so that we may get to see the baby moving around.  So I grabbed a Hawaiian Punch at the gas station down the street and was on my way.

First let’s look at the last heart rate we’ll be getting.  The tech said that she doesn’t want to subject the baby to the sound waves anymore, and we’re so far along now that it’s not necessary.  Everything looks good with a heart rate at 174:

When I got to actually see the baby I was so amazed.  It’s gotten so big!  It used to be this tiny little white squiggle in a big black blob, but now you can see this little person squeezed in this black bubble:

The tech showed me the different parts of the brain forming and the four chambered heart.  I myself was so jacked up on sugar, and so was the baby!  It was the most amazing thing seeing it move around so much!  The arms and hands looked like they kept moving up to rub it’s would-be eyes, and the legs and feet kept kicking out.  I still cry thinking about it.

Oh, and I know that the crown to rump measurements only say 9 weeks 4 days, but when you get this far it’s hard to measure that way because the baby is not only moving so much but the legs are scrunched up. The tech said not to worry since it’s been so on the ball this entire time. She told me that from now on they’ll be measuring things like head ratio.

That’s also it for the trans-vaginal ultrasounds.  I’ll be getting the tummy ones from now on.  When we finished up the next patient came in and she couldn’t speak a lick of English.  I just left to get out of their way.  So I’m not exactly sure when I’ll be getting my next ultrasound, but I’ll be able to talk to them about it more when I go to work on Monday.  I’m pretty sure this is it with the fertility clinic though.  We graduated!  Until next baby I guess though :p

My Midwife did call to ask that we reschedule our next appointment.  I was suppose to go Monday, but we pushed it to Thursday.  I’m actually glad they did.  The time is better, I won’t get stuck in after work traffic, and it just gives me time to adjust and get back into the swing of things.

So I guess until then, have a happy new year!

About babyandthegeeks

I'm just a 28 year old neurotic hippie/geek, and I'm just doing my thing.

Leave a Reply

