RSS Feed

What the What?!?

Just when I think I can take a breath, I got thrown for a bit of a loop the last couple of days.

First, we’re still negotiating things out with the sellers.  We got the roof inspected, and although it’s not bad there’s about $720 worth of work that needs to be done to make sure it lasts another 6 years.  So the only repairs we asked was for the roof, and some broken slats in the fence.  They came back saying they would fix the slats, but that they aren’t doing any more repairs.

We were kind of expecting this because we locked them in a contract pretty quickly, and then they started receiving lots of offers.  They figured out that we got quite a deal, and aren’t budging anymore.  I can’t blame them, but I hate all these games you have to play.  The Realtor is going to ask them for at least $500 in repairs, and see what they say.  If they say no, we’ll just go with what they’ve offered.

I just want to be done with negotiations and know that we’re moving forward.  I know they can’t get out of the contract unless we can’t get financing, but that’s not going to happen.  I just want to know I have my house, and I know where my baby is going to be born.

Next, a couple of days ago we got the word that DH’s paternal grandmother is in the hospital.  From last I heard, they think she has some water on her lungs due to heart problems.  They’re still running tests, and she’ll be in the hospital for a few more days.  It just concerns me because my paternal grandmother went through the same thing, and wasn’t with us for much longer.

I don’t know if I’m just weird when it comes to all this stuff.  I have three grandparents that have passed.  Although you always want them to stay, all of them had failing health and I didn’t want them to suffer anymore.  Just because I don’t believe in any religion’s idea of god doesn’t mean I don’t believe that there can’t be some state of being after death that isn’t more incredible than we can imagine.

I absolutely adore DH’s grandmother.  She hated that DH took my last name, but that’s what you expect from the strong southern matriarch.  We want her here to meet the baby, but I don’t want her to be in anymore pain.  It’s hard that we’re so far away.

Ok, so then yesterday I got a call from the lady that we were having our childbirth class with in June.  It turns out that not enough people have signed up, and she had to cancel it.  She gave me the web address for another class she recommended.  I went to check it out, and saw that it costs more than double her price.   I had a midwife appointment later that day, so I decided to ask them if they had any recommendations before I signed up.

At the midwives, everything was looking good and they suggested that I ask the class instructor if she would be willing to do a one-on-one session.  Then she went to measure my belly.  For those who may not know, they measure from the top of your pelvic bone to the top of the uterus.  It should measure in cm the same as how many weeks you are.  So I was exactly 23 weeks, and should measure 23 cm.

She took a measurement.  Felt around my belly a bit longer, and then said she was going to bring another midwife in.  Oh, no bueno.  The other midwife came in and felt around.  She told my midwife that she was sure that she was right, and they then told me that the baby was measuring big.  Through all my ultrasounds the baby was always measuring right on, so I asked, “so is he like a week or two bigger?”  They told me he’s measuring at 29 weeks!  6 weeks early!  Since we had an IVF, there’s no arguing the due date.

She went on to tell me that it might be nothing.  That he could just be big now and then even out, that I may just be carrying a lot of amniotic fluid, or that it might actually be twins…..WHAT THE WHAT?!?  I told her that I’ve had so many ultrasounds that I was pretty sure that wasn’t the case, but she wanted to send me to get another ultrasound.

She sent off an order at a prenatal doctors, but warned me that they were expensive if we didn’t have insurance.  We did, so I didn’t think much of it.  When I got home, I called them and made the appointment.  Because I am measuring so big they want me to see the actual doctor.  So I won’t be going in until Monday.

I checked our benefits online an sure enough, the doctor is in our preferred list but we have to meet our deductible first.  We’re not even close.  I just got a call from the doctor and they informed me that the $525 bill would be due at the time of the appointment.

Great.  We were trying to be so good about not spending any money because we’re buying a house (which we’ll need about $2,000 for repairs, money for more furniture, plus moving expenses and who knows what else), and now all these crazy things start popping up.

DH tells me that we’re fine, but money stresses me out.  $500 for an ultrasound that will probably be for nothing?  That just seems too much for me, but you have to do it because there’s a ‘what if’.  I know that babies are supposed to be expensive, but don’t they have to come out of my vajayjay first?!?  I did hear from the childbirth class teacher, and she is willing to do a one-on-one class.  So that should save us a bit.

I need to get over it.  There are some couples who have shelled out a lot more money, and still don’t have a baby to show for it. I”m sure they would give any amount to have what we have.  I need to quit sweating the small stuff.  Things could always be worse, so be thankful for what we do have.  We’re in a great place in our lives

Should I be more worried about the baby?  I don’t feel so.  He’s so active.  The midwife could hear the heart beat, but he wouldn’t stay still long enough for her to get a heart rate count.  I really don’t think it’s twins.  So I think it’s either a lot of amniotic fluid, or he’s just big right now (which will hopefully even out).  The first thing I think my mother said when she heard we were pregnant and doing a home birth was, “but DH’s head is so big!”  I also think it’s odd because I haven’t gained any weight in the last month.  So is the baby gaining weight while I’m losing?  What’s going on in there?

I guess we’ll find out, but I’m not going to worry about it until we have all the information.  Until then I’m just going to enjoy that we’re less than a week away from that awesome week 24, and my baby is kicking and hopefully eating like a hog.  I just hope I don’t have to push a Jimmy Neutron out my whooha.

About babyandthegeeks

I'm just a 28 year old neurotic hippie/geek, and I'm just doing my thing.

2 responses »

  1. Deep breath in. Deep breath out. Your baby is fine. You are fine. The money will work out – it always does. And if there were a real problem you would be in the ER – which you are not. So, try to relax, try to be present, try to stay positive. And just think – you’re meeting your deductible now – instead of after the baby is born and all of those expenses come up 😉

    Reply
  2. Wow – sorry to hear about your DH’s grandmother. I’ve lost all of my grandparents and it makes me sad that none will get to meet our little baby girl when she’s born. Good luck with the house – you’re making a good decision for yourself especially since so many others want it too 🙂

    Agree with Carrie to take deep breaths! You’ve got a healthy little ONE in there just growing and growing!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

