RSS Feed

Week 24

Aside from a lot of things, I need a haircut something fierce!

We’ve reached Week 24!!!  If you don’t know, this is the week we reach fetal viability.  Meaning that if for some reason I have to deliver the baby right now, they have a 50% chance of survival.  It doesn’t seem like much, but it means everything.

I’m actually surprised how relieving it is.  I thought I was being so positive, but reaching this point definitely makes this feel even more real.  Wow, we’re so probably going to have this baby.

Aside from then worrying if I’m ready to have this safe natural labor (I’m not, but I’m hoping after our childbirth class in May I’ll be a bit), my next fear is the gestational diabetes test.  I’ll either take it in two weeks, or just after I get back from Cincy in about a month.  I know I may not have it, and that it’s not the end of the world if I do.

It’s really stupid, but I just want to have a normal pregnancy.  I don’t want to have to go on a diet.  Mind you, I would if I had to.  I just have no fond memories of when I had to lose the weight before the IVF and the food I had to eat then (remember Congee?). I don’t eat super bad now, but I did just receive the Girl Scout cookies from my nieces and if I can’t have my Thin Mints I will lose my s#*t.

Blah, enough worry for now.  A few more weeks and we’ll be at 90% viability!  DH’s birthday is coming up.  Oh, and we’ll hopefully have our first healthy nephew in a couple of weeks.  Crazy.

Hope everyone has a safe and happy Passover or Easter!

About babyandthegeeks

I'm just a 28 year old neurotic hippie/geek, and I'm just doing my thing.

One response »

  1. Hope your test goes well and congrats on viability ! I am hanging out for that. If the test has the result you don’t want, just get the bump to baby diet book. It isn’t really a diet, there’s just some yummy fast safe recipes….we made about six different dinners out of if and my husband is loving the food. He eats A LOT, but they were so satisfying he didn’t need seconds. Think we have about 10 friends now cooking and loving some of their favourites. Last night we got in at 7pm and were sitting down to delicious dinner at 7:15… Dead easy. My dietician was one of the writers , and she’s such a kind thoughtful lady, she actually trialled some of the recipes on her mum and dad!!! I’ve just found it so helpful and easy I thought I’d share.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

