RSS Feed

Week 26

I want to start by saying thank you to all the lovely comments I received on my last PAIL post.  It’s sad that so many of us have gone through histories of violence in our lives, but encouraging that many of us work to break the cycle.

Moving on though, my monthly Midwife appointment went well yesterday.  Heartbeat is in the 140s, and although my belly is still measuring a bit big (31 weeks) we now know that it’s nothing to worry about.  My glucose and protein were both negative (Yeah!).

I did however the night before notice that I have something that looks like a big birthmark on the back of my neck.  I’ve apparently had it for at least a week, but it never itched so I never noticed it.  I asked the midwife and she said that it was a fungus.  I just needed some topical cream, and it should go away.  They’re not worried about it.  Then she says that it’s from eating too much white flour and sugar.  Busted 😛  It was Easter!  Can’t I get a break?  I did gain about 3 pounds (the same 3 pounds from two posts ago.  Not 3 more pounds), but it’s normal.

So now she has me using a glucose monitor to track what I’m eating, and how it effects me.  I understand it’s a good idea, but I’m not too excited about it.  I’m about to go to Cincy for two weeks, and I don’t want to get bitched at for how bad I’m going to eat.  Plus those damn test strips are expensive!

I can’t believe I’m 3 days away from heading to Cincy.  I’m still excited to see everyone, but I’m getting more and more bummed to leave DH behind.  At first it seems nice, a little vacation away, but now that it’s a bit more real I realize how much I’ll miss him.  He’s my rock, and what am I going to do without him for two weeks with my family who can drive me crazy?

Plus he hasn’t had to really cook for himself, do laundry, or clean the house for almost two years.  What is he going to do with himself, and what the hell am I going to come home to?  I know he’ll be fine, but you want to feel like they need you as much as you’ll need them.

I am going to take my netbook, but I can’t promise how much I’ll post an update.  At least I’ll have lots to tell when I get back.  Then after that we’ll be moving into the house!  Lots of good things happening.  Our nephew is due any day now.  So send lots of positive vibes/prayers/whatever to my SIL that she has a safe and healthy labor.

Have a great rest of your April, and wish me luck 😉

About babyandthegeeks

I'm just a 28 year old neurotic hippie/geek, and I'm just doing my thing.

Leave a Reply

