RSS Feed

Baby Shower

I’m finally back from my trip to Cincy, and although I’m glad to be back home I had a WONDERFUL time!  The plane ride was long (no direct flights from Austin to Cincy make for a long day) and my hips and belly are officially too big to not hit everyone as I’m waddling down the aisles to use the restroom.  Baby boy was kicking like crazy during take off and landing, and I don’t think he appreciated the freezing temperatures when we finally got there.  I think after a few days of it he went into hibernation, and didn’t really move around too much until we were back home.  Can’t say I blame him.

Spending time with friends and family was great, though.  I started Tuesday by meeting my friend Joey at our Skyline, and was so shocked when I saw a baby gift from our waitresses waiting for us!  His first gifts were some outfits and a bottle.  It was just so sweet!  I made my way to my Mother’s that night to stay for the rest of the week and this was waiting for me on my bed:

Mom knitted it herself.  How cute is that?!?  We had lots more surprises in store for us!

Wednesday involved meeting my brother-in-law for lunch and great conversation, and then I got to have a 3D ultrasound session with my extended family.  I was sooooooo elated to share this moment with my Mom, Grandmother, Sister-in-law (my Brother’s wife), 3 nieces (although the little one didn’t really understand what she was looking at :)), Mother-in-law, and Sister-in-law.  Yes, we all fit comfortably in the room.  It was so much fun.  Baby boy was moving around, had his eye open, stuck his tongue out, and was just as cute as ever!  He has his Momma’s big fat cheeks, but he looks just like Daddy!  Everyone agreed.  He has his nose and his facial structure.  I’ll put some more up later, but here’s a photo:

Our kid is Tebowing….we’re in trouble….

My Mom even got me the cutest thing.  It’s a teddy bear that has the baby’s heartbeat recorded in it!  I’m surprised the batteries haven’t worn out yet.  I just keep squeezing it and squeezing it.  It’s the greatest sound in the world!

The rest of the week meant more time with friends and family and it all lead up to my baby shower!  I can’t believe it!  I got to have a baby shower!  I can’t even begin to describe how many kinds of awesome that is.  It really hit me when we were picking up the party balloons.  Looking up at that blue Mylar balloon with a teddy bear on it, I just lost it.  I had to step away as tears ran down my cheeks.

It didn’t last long though as everything quickly was ready, and the guests started to arrive.  I couldn’t believe how many people came!  I barely had time to greet and chat with everyone.  Then just all the details that went into the party itself!  My Mom and SIL just went above and beyond!  It was a Woodland themed shower, and well just look at all they did:

Look at that spread!

Owl and Potted Plant Cupcakes

Baby Fruit Basket

How amazeballs is all of this, and there was just so much more!  I couldn’t have asked for better.  The food was delicious, the decorations were amazing, the company was fantastic, and the amount of gifts was overwhelming!  Some of the best being this gem, and some onesies from friends and my SIL.  Seriously, some people get us 😉  I also got onesies that have each month on them, so that I can take pictures and share baby boy’s growth with all of you.  I can’t wait!  Oh, and of course this awesomeness:

I could only hope my kid comes out with jazz hands!

Everything we got was great though.  It really was just perfection.  I keep thinking, “oh, and there was this, and this!  Don’t forget to write about this!”  There was so much.  Like everyone left with a bracelet with a Jasper stone on it (and I got a big necklace) for the baby’s name.  How cool is that kind of detail?  I feel like the luckiest girl in the world.  Now I just have to send out thank you notes!

Sunday was truly a day of rest as we all had “baby shower” hangover.  Plus we had to get ready for the road-trip back to Austin.  That story will be continued!

That night though, my SIL was induced.  We got word the next morning that she was not having a good time of it.  After 12 hours the baby still hadn’t dropped so it looked like she’d have to have a C-section.  We later found out that the cord was wrapped around baby’s neck and was causing his head to swell.  I’m happy to say though that baby A was successfully born via C-section and him and Mommy are doing just fine now.  I’m sad that SIL didn’t have a better experience, but I know that she’ll bounce back quick.  Baby A is so cute, and we can’t wait until all the Aunts, Uncles, and Cousins meet each other!

Ok, I guess that’s all for now.  I have to do a bit more packing.  2 more days until the big move!  I can’t wait!

About babyandthegeeks

I'm just a 28 year old neurotic hippie/geek, and I'm just doing my thing.

One response »

  1. That sounds absolutely fabulous! I love the onesie. We also had an owl theme at our shower.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

