RSS Feed

Well GD, I Have GD

I know, I’ve been a bad poster.  With everything going on when it comes to making the decision between posting and napping, guess which wins?  It’s not just been in the blogging world.  I just sent out the Baby Shower Thank You cards out today….a month after the Baby Shower.

The house is coming together bit by bit.  I wish I could do more, but it can get really overwhelming and exhausting.  We did get the nursery together though, and it looks fantastic!

Nursery

Changing Area

Crib

Glider

DH insisted on the poster

I spent the better part of last Thursday washing all the clothes, sheets, blankets, toys, etc. and I’m pretty sure its ready to go.  Other than the guest bathroom I think it’s the only room completely finished.

I wouldn’t care, but we’re going to be having a House Warming/Baby Shower here in three weeks.  I know that no one really expects it to be at 100%, but its our first grown up place and I want it to be nice.  We’ll see how it goes.

Ok, so the big news I haven’t gotten to yet is about the Gestational Diabetes.  Right before I left for Cincy, my midwife asked if I wanted to do the GD test, or if I just wanted to track my blood sugar level with a monitor.  I decided on the monitor to kind of see what foods were best for me.

I needed to take a fasting test and then a test two hours after every meal.  The Fasting level should be below 95, and under 120 two hours after meals.  So I took my first level the morning I was boarding the plane.  It was 95.

My midwife told me to call if I ever went over, but I was about to leave for two weeks.  So I decided to just see how it went, and would face the music when I got back.  I didn’t really hold back that first week.  I ate what I wanted to eat.  I went over my levels 14 times that week.

After that I knew I needed to get serious.  I looked into what I needed to be eating if I was diabetic.  It became pretty obvious, cut out the carbs.  I was still on the road that week, but I tried my hardest to cut back on carbs.  The second week I only went over my levels 7 times.

I got back home, and looked at what I was eating and the results.  I figured out that I really had to completely cut out all carbs.  No white flour, white rice, corn, or sweets.  I already miss my wine and sushi.  Now I can’t have noodles, chips, pizza, breads, or ice cream?!?

But that wasn’t really what was worrying me.  I was so scared to talk to my midwife about it.  It looked that I would be able to control it with diet, but would she still take me if I had GD?  If she wouldn’t then I would have to go to a doctor who would just want to put me on insulin and make me get a C section.  It was everything I was trying to avoid.

So when I had my next appointment when I got back I was extremely nervous.  I showed her all my charts and told her what I’ve been doing to get my levels under control.  That was the middle of the third week, and I only went over 3 times that week.  So I had maybe only been over once that week when I saw her.

“Well we can definitely say that you have Gestational Diabetes,” she said, “but it looks like you can keep it under control with diet.  If you can keep it up there’s no reason you shouldn’t have a normal pregnancy with a normal sized baby.  Its actually a great thing we caught this so early.  You’re doing a great job, and you should be really proud of yourself!”

She then gave me a hug, and I felt like a huge weight was lifted off of my shoulders.  The GD is not fun, but I would do anything for my baby and to have the birth I want us both to have.

Its a great thing that I love meat, but it’s not great that my variety of foods is very limited.  DH is tired of watching me eat chicken cobb salads.  I’m trying to figure out new things to try and add them to my menu.  Thank goodness for Atkins products.  I’m actually waiting for some of their Baking Mix to be delivered so that I can just have a freakin’ pancake!

It’s been three weeks since the last time I went over my levels.  I’m proud of what I’ve done, but I definitely can’t wait until its over with and I don’t have to worry about what I’m eating, and when to test, and pricking my fingers anymore.  I’ve also actually lost 4 pounds since dieting.

I don’t want it to seem like I’m complaining though.  I still love being pregnant.  One of the things of having a natural home birth is the belief that pregnancy should not be viewed as an illness.  Just because I have GD doesn’t mean that I’m sick.  Before being pregnant I smoked, drank, ate like crap, and was obese.  The pregnant me is the healthiest I’ve been in a long time.  It’s not easy, but I couldn’t be happier.

9 weeks to go!

About babyandthegeeks

I'm just a 28 year old neurotic hippie/geek, and I'm just doing my thing.

2 responses »

  1. Grab a book called the bump to baby diet on amazon. You NEED carbs, they just need To be GOOD carbs. Lots of easy recipes for GD. I was diagnosed w bad GD at 14 weeks, and on this…NO weight gain. None. LOVE THE FOOD too.

    Nursery looks great! We are working on ours this week. It’s such a mess!!!!!!

    Reply
  2. I love the nursery! I’m pretty sure I have GD as well. I’m still waiting for the phone call.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

