RSS Feed

Getting Things in Line

So we’re back from the babymoon.  It was soooo nice!  Just to lounge around on the beach, float in a pool, and spend some good one on one time with DH was very much needed.  We didn’t get to stay too long, but it was a great time.

Baby’s First Trip to the Beach!

I posted this picture on FB, and was surprised how many people commented on how good I looked.  I mean, not that I think I don’t 😉  But I really wasn’t fishing for comments like that.  It made me start to think though of all the women who I know on FB that were/are pregnant, and the very few of them that also post pregnant photos (1 of 5 that I can think of off the top of my head).  It makes me really sad.  I love seeing my friends and family with big pregnant bellies (in the name of honesty though, had I not gotten pregnant I probably wouldn’t feel that way).  I wish that every pregnant woman felt as beautiful as they really are.

I’m so proud of my belly.  Sometimes I just push it out more.  I don’t mean to show off in a bad way, but damn it I went through hell to get this and I want to enjoy it!  I have gotten so few comments about it or people who want to touch my belly that I sometimes ask DH if I look pregnant or just really fat.  Not that I care if they think I’m really fat (please, dealt with that my entire life.  Over it), but this may be the only time in my life I’ll be pregnant.  Acknowledge the belly, lol!  I may be odd, but I love it when people touch my belly.  I guess I just wish that other preggos could enjoy and appreciate the experience as much as I do, and not worry about how they look.

Not that it’s always a cakewalk or that I always feel beautiful.  Actually, I’ve felt like complete crap the last few days.  I’m exhausted, hot, can’t concentrate, and just overwhelmed by what I would like to get done and just how little I can manage.  Trips to the store take an extra hour because I don’t move or think fast.  When DH came home last night I had made the main dish of dinner, but could not manage to come up with a side item.  Part of it was just being sick of the limited options of low carbs, and part of it was just that I was tired and didn’t want to even think about it.  I’ve never felt so lazy in my life.  It drives me crazy.

The midwife wants us to basically have all our ducks in a row in less than three weeks since the baby can really come as early as 36 weeks.  I know it can come even earlier, but that’s the earliest that they will allow you to have a homebirth, and they want you to be completely ready by then.  Thank goodness there is little more than cleaning upkeep in the house, but there’s a lot of things to get together for this homebirth.  I have about half of the supplies ready, and I need to find a pediatrician.  Not exactly an easy thing to do when you’re in a new area.  I’ve gotten a few recommendations and plan to start making calls on Monday.

While I was also at the midwife, baby boy was being a stink.  Recently when she’s been feeling my belly, she’s been able to tell that he’s heads down.  This day, she literally couldn’t make heads or tails of him.  I had three different midwives poking me, and they couldn’t figure it out.  He was sort of diagonal, maybe Frank Breech?  So they decided to wait until the end of the meeting to try again.  They felt before I left, and he had gone back to heads down.  Great.

Before we had left for the babymoon, I actually got a call from one of the 3D ultrasound places I went to.  They said that they were training new techs, and asked if I wanted to be a “test subject”.  I said of course, who doesn’t want to see their baby again?  So I had set up the appointment after my midwife appointment.  When I got there and they started looking at my baby the instructor said, “Well, this one is going to be different.”  He was completely sideways and indeed in a Frank Breech position.  He was snuggled in good, and would not move.  This made it really hard for them to get any good pictures, or even see his sex.  I apologized to the students that it wasn’t a better learning experience for them.  I was one of those “if things go totally wrong during a session and how to deal with your client then” scenarios.  Great…

I’m not too worried about his position as I don’t feel like he’s normally like that, and he still has a couple of weeks to get his head down again.  I was just really bummed about not getting a good view of him again though.  I was really looking forward to it.  He’s gained more weight, and looks a little chunkier but I just couldn’t make out too much of his features.  This was the best picture we got of him:

That would be his foot in his eye…

Oh well, other than that they said he looked great and I’m super happy about that.  I know I’ll be ready by week 36, but if he wants to cook in there a little more I’m perfectly fine with that.  I’m getting my head wrapped around the whole birth thing, but it’s not like I’m just ready to jump into it this moment.  Just trying to get everything in line.

On a side note, send your love and prayers to Michelle and Roo at A Miracle in the Works.  At just under 32 weeks, her water broke and went to the hospital.  Everything is looking well so far though, but she is being closely monitored.  Roo is just a week and a half younger than Jasper, and I can’t imagine having to go through what they are going through.  They are both some strong women!

About babyandthegeeks

I'm just a 28 year old neurotic hippie/geek, and I'm just doing my thing.

One response »

  1. Gorgeous belly! You are rocking that swimming suit – no wonder you got so many positive comments!!!

    Your note at the end of your posting brought me to tears! Thank you!! xox

    Reply

Leave a Reply

