RSS Feed

32 Days Left?!?

32 days left?!?  At least, if he does decide to come on his due date.  Oh my, we’re ready, but I can’t believe how close we’re getting.

I’m so torn.  Part of me is ready to meet him face to face.  Hold him in my arms, kiss his cheeks, and hold his little hands.  Part of me isn’t ready for him to be out of my body yet.  I don’t know if I’ll ever be pregnant again.  I’ve enjoyed it so much.  This bond we have.  Feeling his kicks.  After this he’ll only grow up and farther away from his Mommy.  Don’t get me wrong though, I am excited to see the man he’ll become.

Sigh, so what’s been going on?  Well we had a lovely little baby shower/house warming party thrown by a dear new friend of mine.  We had seven kids under the age of 10 in our house.  What a way to test if you are ready to become a parent!  I’m proud to say that even though I spent all week cleaning my house to perfection, I barely batted an eye as I watched them destroy it.

Here’s some pictures of the festivities:

The Spread

Awesome patchwork quilt that DH’s coworker’s wife made for us.

It was a great time.  We’re really blessed to be surrounded by so many people who love and support us.

Then on Tuesday I had an appointment with the midwife.  Everything was going fine until she was trying to determine the position of the baby.  After much poking around we figured that he was fully in a Frank Breech position.

I had been doing inversion techniques, but not religiously.  So now we’re at a serious point.  She’s giving me a bit of time to see if we can naturally get the baby to turn, but if he doesn’t then she’s going to recommend me to a physician to do an External Cephalic Verision (EVC).

I’m not scared to have it done, although I would like to avoid it obviously.  I’m more frightened to have it not work, and have to have a C-section.  So I’m trying everything in my power to get him to flip.

Now please, I hope this doesn’t sound rude, but if I hear one more person suggest things to me I will scream.  Yes, I know about Spinningbabies.  Yes, I’ve been doing Inversion, Breech Tilt, using hot and cold packs, music, light, I went to a Chiropractor who does the Webster Technique on Wednesday, and an Acupuncturist who does Moxibustion on Thursday.  We are literally doing everything.

So has the baby turned?  I have no idea.  It’s so frustrating that it can bring me to tears sometimes.  From feeling my belly, I can’t make heads or tails of him.  I tried to get my midwife to help me figure it out before, but if she can barely figure it out how am I supposed to?  I left just more confused.  I’ve tried researching online, but nothing is helping.

From feeling his kicks (or punches I can’t tell which is which), it’s all in my lower abdomen.  I rarely, if ever, feel anything above my belly button.  So wouldn’t that still mean he’s breech?  Well shouldn’t I feel something up there?  He always likes to have his feet near his head, so what if he is heads down and his feet are down there too?  Which is why I’m only feeling movement down there?

Plus if you think he has flipped, you’re supposed to stop doing all this stuff.  I’m so unsure though that I would hate to stop doing it, and have him not flip.  Not to mention that laying on that damn board upside down is starting to kill my back and give me headaches.

Ugh, see how this can be so frustrating?  I would like to feel confidant that I’ll get good news before the midwife comes on Monday, but I really just don’t know.  This is the most stressed out I’ve been this whole pregnancy.

We’re finally in the home stretch.  I’ve done EVERYTHING for this kid, and he wants to put it in jeopardy because he doesn’t want to put his freakin’ big head down?!?  Alright, well send some good vibes, and I’ll let you know how it goes tomorrow.

Wish us luck!

About babyandthegeeks

I'm just a 28 year old neurotic hippie/geek, and I'm just doing my thing.

3 responses »

  1. A Miracle In the Works

    I hope he turns for you!! Congrats on the home stretch. Enjoy this time!!

    The shower looks like a lot of fun!!

    Reply
  2. Good luck! I hope he turns soon if he hasn’t already!

    Reply
  3. Try not to worry, He can still turn, there’s time!
    Good luck though!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

