RSS Feed

2 Weeks

My baby is fast asleep in his crib for like the first time ever!  How could I have ever imagined that this kid would not be attached to me?  I can hardly get a minute without him.  Not that I really want to.  Even now I’m getting antsy to go watch him.

He LOVES the boobies.  He wants to be on them 24/7.  For food, for comfort, for sleep, and just because.  I was a mess for the first few days because he was getting frustrated that my milk wasn’t coming in.  I supplemented a bit of formula, but we both were so happy when it finally came in on day 5.  I’m glad that he doesn’t seem to have any nipple confusion.  This kid breastfeeds like a champ.

I love the attachment, but it can be hard since I literally can’t do anything but sit and nurse him all day long.  It hasn’t been so bad since we’ve had in-laws here to help, but I worry about when they leave.  How will I clean?  Go grocery shopping?  Or even get up to pee?  Because if this kid is not on the breast, he loses his mind.  Nothing comforts him.  No swaddling, pacifiers, car rides.  Nothing but the breast.  I guess I could let him “cry it out” a bit more, but it just breaks my heart.  I can’t do it.

We’ve even moved to co-sleeping even though I was so against it.  I had a hard first couple of nights with the idea of it.  I just sobbed when night would come.  I was so worried that we were putting him at risk.  What if DH rolls over on him?  What if he gets smothered?  What if he overheats?

At the midwife visit though they ordered me to get more sleep, basically telling me that I looked like complete shit.  So since we moved to the co-sleeping we’ve all gotten more rest and are a lot happier.

I just have to keep reminding myself that this isn’t going to last forever.  Of course that also just makes me sad that he won’t be attached to me like this forever.

Sorry this is so short and all over the place.  I wanted to update, but my mind is somewhere else 😉

About babyandthegeeks

I'm just a 28 year old neurotic hippie/geek, and I'm just doing my thing.

3 responses »

  1. Co-sleeping is totally the way to go in these early days…we get 3 hour stretches when he’s in bed with us =) Love that Jasper is a breastfeeding champ!

    Reply
  2. A Miracle In the Works

    Yay! What a wonderful way to provide and care for your baby. It is exhausting though I know!!

    At my first pediatrician appointment, the doc also basically told me that I looked like crap. I think all new moms must look that way when they first go in 🙂

    Congrats again!

    Reply
  3. A co-sleeper eased my mind — it is basically a three sided pack and play that is level w/ and attached to your bed. Check it out – totally worth the money.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

