RSS Feed

At Arms Reach

Recently in the HN Support Group, MANY women have gotten the news that they are pregnant.

“Who the he#$ kicked over the bucket of baby dust? I seem to have been dusted by accident!”

The same lady to said this then posted a positive pregnancy test, and then another post asking when everyone is due.  I get an alert every time someone posts in this group, and I’m getting sick of all the pregnancy crap.  It’s not a pregnancy group.  In one of the posts, they even started this comment bickering about how you can or can’t really have an “accidental child”, the damage you do to the kid by telling them they were an accident, blah blah blah.
They don’t want to hear the comment I have for them all….

It’s not that I’m jealous.  In fact I was just telling my brother’s wife that I don’t think that we will ever try artificial conception again.  Not that we had a bad experience with it, but that I don’t know if I could ever handle having another High Need baby.  Sure, I could possibly have a baby that doesn’t cry all day long, but at this point I don’t want to risk it. We won’t use protection, but its highly doubtful we would ever naturally conceive.  Especially since DH has NOT quit smoking…..grr….but that’s another post….

It’s more that I know I’m not the only infertile in the group, and even if you reached the other side it can still be annoying to be bombarded by pregnancy news.  Especially the “accidental” ones.  These women bitch all the time about their kids.  I know its just venting and they love their children, but still.  I just have to roll my eyes when someone posts about how they hate being a mom and then two hours later complains about morning sickness.

Congrats on your news, but I can’t comment because it should stay a positive place.  So I’ll keep myself at arms reach and just bitch about them here 😛

In other news:

I got a wild hair up my ass and really wanted to go to Once Upon a Child yesterday.  So after breakfast I loaded the baby up, and away we went.  He was of course wailing by the time we got there.  I took him out of the car seat, into the Mo.by, and stuck a bottle in his mouth.

I quickly looked around and saw a co-sleeper for $70.  I didn’t have much time to look at the maker, but it looked sturdy and clean.  So before J could lose his cool, I bought it and loaded both of them into the car.

He was in meltdown mode by the time we got home, but actually fell asleep as soon as I set him down (for only half and hour, but did sleep).  So I got to take a good look at my new purchase.  It was an Arms Reach Mini with extenders and an extra mattress cover.  So a $200 item for $70.  Go me!

As much as the bed rail was working, it wasn’t.  The baby would snuggle up to me at night and I was scared of smothering him, so I would scoot back.  We were essentially scooting DH right out of the bed.  Plus, I hated being stuck in the middle and was overheating.

So how did our first night with the co-sleeper go?  Well, you do still have to pick him up and place him in it.  So once we were ready for bed I nursed and when he had fallen asleep I set him in it.  He fell asleep!…for ten minutes.  Ok, took him back out, nursed him, he fell asleep, I put him back in.  He instantly woke up.  Ok, again….but this time I swaddled him.  Nurse, asleep, put him in.

He didn’t wake up until 6 AM!

Now that’s not to say I didn’t.  I woke up about 4 am crazy engorged.  I got up, pumped one breast, and laid back down convinced that he was going to wake up and want the other one.  5 am rolled around, and I couldn’t sleep with my boob hurting that bad.  So I pumped.  Sure that I made a mistake.  Luckily though it wasn’t until 6 that he got out of his swaddle and woke himself up.

By that time DH was getting ready for work.  So he spent the rest of the morning in bed with me.  I still call that a success though.

Bad news:  He would NOT nap today!  I’m tired, he’s tired.

Lets see how tonight goes.

About babyandthegeeks

I'm just a 28 year old neurotic hippie/geek, and I'm just doing my thing.

Leave a Reply

