RSS Feed

Catch Up

Long time, no see.  Sigh, honestly sometimes posting seems like a chore, and that makes me sad.  Life has changed so much.  There was a time I needed this blog on a daily basis.  I needed that outlet.

Now my focus is elsewhere, and he demands it 24/7.  The little time I do get to get away from him is spent catching up on things like cleaning and cooking.  The time it takes to sit down, put my thoughts together, and put together a post just keep falling lower and lower on the list.  It’s not that I don’t have ideas for posts, there’s just no time to post them.

It’s not that I necessarily want to delete the blog.  I’m just being honest that I’m not going to be able to post as often.  It just didn’t end up being what I had hoped it would become, but neither is being a parent (not a bad thing!).

Anyway, so what’s happened in the last month?

We drove from Austin to Cincy for Christmas.  I packed way too much.  The first day was miserable as little J cried (and when I say “cried” I mean wailed) half of the time.  Once so badly that he puked all over himself.  He did get a little more used to it.  He kind of had to as we were traveling to somewhere every day.  He even gave us a Christmas miracle and slept the whole way from Cincy to Louisville.

5 Months 066

He got to experience his first snow, and after a day of it I was over it.  No regrets moving far away from snow.

Snow 032

Everyone was so excited to meet him, and he was so happy to meet everyone.  He was spoiled, and got way too many gifts.  He even actually slept a little better, for a few days at least….

Then about 6 days in I noticed he was a little off.  I couldn’t tell if he was sick or teething.  On the day we drove back I figured that he was sick with a cold because I caught it too.  We were both miserable for about a week.  Then he went into an awful sleep regression, but it’s slowly getting back to normal.

So we had some good times, we had some bad.  We got home and I neurotically got to cleaning and re-arranging the house.  Now we’re settled back in, and getting back into our routine.  Which I’m sure is going to change again as things are changing every day.

Little J is getting a little better at rolling from his back to tummy, but he still hates being on his tummy.  Which makes the rolling from the tummy to back a lot harder to master.  We have started pushing up on our hands though.  Other than that I feel that we’re on the cusp of a lot of things.  Teething, eating solids a little better, and sitting completely unassisted are just on the horizon.

Although, side note:  he hates to sit.  Has anyone else heard of a baby who hates to sit?  If he can’t be in your arms, he wants to stand.  He always stood ever since he was born it seems.  He likes to stand and hover over things (inevitably drooling all over them).  I swear if he could just skip sitting and crawling, and just go straight to standing and walking he would.

That’s all for now.  I do have another post that I am determined to get up hopefully within the next week.  Otherwise, I’ll post when big things come up.  I’m still reading your posts.  I hope you all are having a great year so far!

About babyandthegeeks

I'm just a 28 year old neurotic hippie/geek, and I'm just doing my thing.

Leave a Reply

